PrincetonComputer SciencePIXL Group → Lunch Local Access
Lunch

The PIXL lunch meets every Monday during the semester at noon in room 402 of the Computer Science building. To get on the mailing list to receive announcements, sign up for the "pixl-talks" list at lists.cs.princeton.edu.

Upcoming Talks



Monday, March 23, 2020
Hei Law


Monday, March 30, 2020
Anders Grunnet-Jepsen


Monday, April 06, 2020
Ankit Goyal


Monday, April 13, 2020
Deniz Oktay


Monday, April 20, 2020
Yuting Yang


Monday, April 27, 2020
Jiaqi Su


Monday, May 04, 2020
Fangyin Wei


Monday, May 11, 2020
Angela Dai


Monday, May 18, 2020
Zeyu Wang




Previous Talks



Monday, February 10, 2020
Ethan Tseng


Monday, February 17, 2020
Data + Art: better science communication
Kirell Benzi

Abstract
What is Data Art? Can a spreadsheet be transformed into a beautiful, emotional visualization able to communicate knowledge/information more deeply than either the dry spreadsheet, or the traditional charts we use on a daily basis? What additional insight can these complex visualizations provide? Inspired by data visualization and creative coding, we will discuss their main differences as we dwell on interesting (and entertaining) data science research projects such as biodiversity, the strength of collaboration, the Montreux Jazz Festival, Wikipedia and the Star Wars expanded universe. This seminar will show that Data Art can be used as a new communication medium to tell impactful insightful stories and analyses by connecting scientific rigor with creativity.

Bio
Kirell Benzi is a data artist, speaker and data visualization lecturer. He holds a Ph.D. in Data Science from EFPL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne). His unique work, mixing data visualization and abstract aesthetics, has been shown in museums, newspapers, magazines and on over 100 websites in 10 languages. In 2018, he gave a keynote at a TEDx symposium in Annecy, France on the combination of data and art. He regularly tours the world to inspire people to gain more data literacy by showing the positive outcomes of technology for our society using art.